Home / Community / Tourism / US 23 Heritage Route

US 23 Heritage Route

Pure Michigan Byways Logo SignThe US 23 Heritage Route is a Pure Michigan Byway, a program under the Michigan Department of Transportation. It begins in Standish and travels 200 miles up the Lake Huron shoreline to Mackinaw City. US 23 Heritage Route connects to a River Road National Scenic Byway in Oscoda. 

US 23 logo

Visit the US 23 website heritage23.com! 



US 23 Management Council

US 23 is overseen by a Management Council - this Council sets the direction of the US 23 program and provides feedback to the Northeast Michigan Council of Governments (who manages and provides staffing and technical support for the program).


Current US 23 Management Council Members

Alpena County Representative: Adam Poll (Alpena Chamber)
Alpena County Representative: Ken Gauthier (Sanborn Township) (alternate Rich Sullenger - City of Alpena)
Alcona County Representative: Marlena MacNeill (Alcona Township) - Vice-Chairperson
Alcona County Representative: Mary Ellen Jones (Mitten Women Productions)
Cheboygan County Representative: vacant
Cheboygan County Representative: vacant
Iosco County Representative: D. Jay O'Farrell (Iosco County Board of Commissioners)
Iosco County Representative: Dave Wentworth (Heritage Coast Sailing & Rowing)
Presque Isle County Representative: Anne Belanger (Presque Isle Library and Bon Ami Filmworks)
Presque Isle County Representative: Deb Stiller (Rogers City Parks Commission)
Arenac County Representative: Sue Stein
Arenac County Representative: vacant
Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary Representative: Sarah Waters
Friends of the Thunder Bay National Marine Sanctuary Representative: Katie Wolf (Chairperson)
Private Tourism Representative: Ian Dockrill (Lost Lake Woods)
Private Tourism Representative: vacant
Sunrise Coastal Coalition Representative: Belle Flora (alternate Pat Shiftlet)
CVB Representative: Mary Beth Stutzman
South Bay Corridor Representative: Larry Clark
Michigan Department of Transportation Representative: Kevin Schaedig and Garrett Dawe
Michigan Department of Natural Resources Representative: Blake Gingrich and Eric Ostrander
Michigan Sea Grant Representative: Brandon Schroeder
Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe Representative: Don Seal (alternate Frank Cloutier)
US Forest Service Representative: Andrew Kenyon
NRTH Committee Representative: vacant

Corridor Management Plan:

The US 23 Heritage Route is governed by a Corridor Management Plan - click here to download


US 23 Heritage Route Program Manager: Denise Cline