Home / Community / Planning & Community Development / Hazard Mitigation Plans

Hazard Mitigation Plans


Northeast Michigan Council of Governments (NEMCOG) is working in partnership with seven counties, Alcona, Alpena, Crawford, Montmorency, Oscoda, Otsego, and Presque Isle to update their hazard mitigation plans.  The plans were prepared in 2005 and updated in 2014.  The 2019-2020 update will amend the Counties' 2014 hazard mitigation plans.  

The plan update will inventory the county’s potential hazards, assess the county’s risks and vulnerabilities from the hazards, and develop mitigation strategies to reduce and prevent losses from future disasters.  The Stafford Act, as amended by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, requires counties to develop and adopt hazard mitigation plans to become eligible for hazard mitigation grant program funds.  

2019-2020 Hazard Mitigation Plan Update Status

NEMCOG and the seven counties conducted a survey in 2019 to gain input about perceptions and opinions regarding natural hazards, and the preferred methods and techniques used to reduce the risks and losses from these hazards.  The responses were used to inform the plan update.  

In the upcoming months, the draft hazard mitigation plans will be available for review and comment.  

2019-2020 Hazard Mitigation Draft Plans

Oscoda County (submitted to the State and FEMA for review)

Otsego County  (submitted to the State and FEMA for review)

Montmorency County (submitted to the State and FEMA for review)

Crawford County (available for review and comment; Public Meeting is August 5, 2020 at 3pm.  See meeting information below.) 

Alcona County (available for review and comment)

Alpena County (submitted to the State and FEMA for review)

2019 Oscoda County Draft

2019 Otsego County Draft

2014 Hazard Mitigation Plans

Alcona County

Alpena County

Crawford County

Montmorency County

Oscoda County

Otsego County

Presque Isle County